What cities are considered the Amalfi Coast?

Whenever I see references to the Amalfi Coast, Sorrento and Salerno also pop out, but these seem rather large cities, at least Salerno.

What is or isn’t part of Amalfi Coast, technically speaking?

I often see/hear such confusions as well.

This is the map the UNESCO provides about the Amalfi Coast:

Source: https://whc.unesco.org/en/list/830/

There are 13 municipalities that are part of the Amalfi Coast plus their frazioni (hamlets in English). In west to east direction, roughly speaking, they are:

  • Positano
  • Praiano
  • Furore
  • Conca dei Marini
  • Amalfi
  • Atrani
  • Scala
  • Ravello
  • Minori
  • Tramonti
  • Maiori
  • Cetara
  • Vietri sul Mare

Sorrento is the largest town to the north of the Amalfi Coast, while Salerno is largest city to the south of the Amalfi Coast. Both are very well connected to the Amalfi Coast, both via road and ferry services, but they’re not part of the Amalfi Coast.

On the Sorrento side there’s an entire Costiera Sorrentina, different than the Costiera Amalfitana, with its set of beautiful picture-perfect towns, but it’s often they get labeled together under the name of the more popular Costiera, that is the Amalfi Coast. Then, south of Salerno starts Costiera Cilentana.

1 Like